The Phil Mickelson rules controversy has reached fever pitch, with players and fans taking to social media to question why he wasn't disqualified for hitting his ball while it was still in motion on the 13th green during his third round.
On the green in three, Mickelson had an 18-footer for a par, but as his ball zoomed past the hole and on to the slope heading off the putting surface, his frustration boiled over.
Mickelson hit his putt while it was still moving and was hit with a two-stoke penalty.
"Look, I don't mean disrespect to anybody". "I know it's a two-shot penalty. I just finally did".
Mickelson's tee shot hit the fairway, but he missed the green with his next two approach shots. He carded a 10 on the hole for a 5 over par.
The moment you missed between Meghan and Harry on the Palace balcony
For the Duchess , this will have been on the royal train in the morning, before they embarked on the day of joint engagements. Her Majesty and newly-married Meghan are officially opening the Mersey Gateway Bridge and Chester's Storyhouse Theatre.
He cited the 1995 US Open, also at Shinnecock, recalling that Neil Lancaster went out in benign morning conditions and shot an opening nine-hole score of 29 to thrust himself into contention.
"No question it was going to go down into the same spot behind the bunker".
But four bogeys in a row from the eighth had virtually put paid to any kind of comeback over the weekend before the weird scene on 13. In fairness to Mickelson, the best aren't immune to a brain freeze or a meltdown and he'll surely put his act down to something like that. And if that's the way people took it, I apologize to them, but that's not the way it was taken.
Shortly after Mickelson finished, two-time major champion Zach Johnson launched a scathing attack on the course set-up. "The last time I saw something like that was John Daly at the '99 [U.S.] Open at Pinehurst".